Natalie and Isabelle’s Rising Star Project Experience

Natalie and Isabelle are getting ready for opening night of the Rising Star Project. In its 5th year, the Rising Star Project is presenting their production of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying right here on our stage. Seventy-nine talented teens are working on every aspect of the full scale production—from the cast and orchestra to arts administration and the backstage technicians. Here is what Natalie and Isabelle have to say about their experience so far.

1516_RSP_H2$_RSP Experience
Natalie and Isabelle
Ages 15 and 18

Why did you want to participate in Rising Star Project?

 Natalie: I wanted to participate because I wanted to learn more about working at the theater. It’s helpful to know how to respond in stressful situations and I get to learn how to be in high energy situations.

Isabelle: I wanted to participate in RSP because I have been involved for three years – it has always been a great experience.

 What have you enjoyed most so far this year?

 Natalie: I like learning and experiencing new things. Although I am in the same job as last year (which I love!), I get to learn more about my area of tech – My mentor is giving me more responsibility and I love it!

 Isabelle: I love that we are trained by professionals and get to learn so much from them! They are very helpful.

 What new skills have you learned?

Natalie: I have learned how to “knife the dog”! – which is a fun term for how to work the automated tracks that move set pieces back and forth on stage.

Isabelle: I learned how to put on a wig, how to set up a microphone, how to sew better, and how to properly quick change an actor!

 Has Rising Star Project taught you anything about yourself?

Natalie: I have learned that I am a hard worker, I like to work in high energy and I can keep my cool under pressure. I also learned that I can get along with many different people and work well with everyone.

Isabelle: I have learned that I really would like to work in theatre and I love the technical aspects of the show!

What would you like to say to the supporters of The 5th?

 Isabelle: Thank you so much for helping to support RSP. This is truly an incredible opportunity for all of the students – including me!

Natalie: It’s so wonderful that donors support us because I could never pay for this experience and I have gained real workplace skills that will help me in the future. Thank you very much for giving me this fantastic opportunity. Because of you, I have been able to grow, learn, interact, and develop new skills that I will use for the rest of my life!

Come see Rising Star Project: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying on March 4 and 5. Click here to find out more and buy tickets.

Author: The 5th Avenue Theatre

The Nation's Leading Musical Theater

Leave a Reply

